About the Artist

Formed in 2002 Opensouls have steadily risen through the ranks of the New Zealand music scene since beginning their combined musical journey in 2001.

Comprised of 2 vocalists, M.C. Bjorn Petersen and singer Tyra Hammond, and a live band including Jeremy Toy a.k.a. Ota (guitar/MPC), Julien Dyne (drums), Chip Mathews (bass), Steph Brown (keys), Scott Towers (saxophone), Isaac Aesili (trumpet/vocals) and Harlin Davey a.k.a. DJ Buttafingers (turntables), the collective possesses an abundance of musical flair and experience which they have used to great effect on their critically acclaimed debut album Kaleidoscope.

Add to this a string of sold out 12" and 7" vinyl releases and an inspired live show, and it's clear to see why Opensouls are now widely regarded one of Aotearoa's premier groups.

Opensouls new album 'Standing In The Rain' was released in August 2009.  It debuted top ten in New Zealand and will be followed by a summer of extensive touring up & down the country.



Latest Release

Buy album
Standing In The Rain by Opensouls cover art

Standing In The Rain

Standing In The Rain is Opensouls' terrifically accomplished sophomore album and well and truly solidifies their standing as a top-shelf NZ soul band. Standing In The Rain is a concept ...