Going Global Music Summit 2012 Announces Showcase Artists

August 21st 2012
Going Global Music Summit 2012 - What you need to know before you go.

Independent Music New Zealand is proud to announce that the GOING GLOBAL MUSIC SUMMIT 2012 will include live music showcases in WELLINGTON, AUCKLAND and CHRISTCHURCH
- the artists are listed below by venue and the complete artist list w/- links is further below.

If you are looking to take your music overseas, come and hear from people who are working with both new and established artists on the global stage.

GOING GLOBAL MUSIC SUMMIT 2012 - Announcing The Artists:

 

Thursday 6th September - WELLINGTON

Seminars: CQ Conference Centre, 213-223 Cuba St, Cuba Rooms 3-5 (free entry)

Showcases: Ten artists, two venues

Brought to you by IMNZ, NZ Music Commission, Mighty Mighty & San Francisco Bathhouse

 


Appearing at Mighty Mighty, 104 Cuba St (free entry, 1st band 7pm):

· Name UL

· Matt Langley

· The Eversons

· Disasteradio

· The All Seeing Hand

Appearing at San Francisco Bath House, 171 Cuba St (free entry, 1st band 7.30pm)


· The Velvet Regime

· Family Cactus

· Sunken Seas

· The Golden Awesome

· Mountaineater (Dun)

 

 

Friday 7th September - AUCKLAND

Seminars: IMNZ members only, not open to public

Saturday 8th September - AUCKLAND

Seminars: The Langham Hotel, 83 Symonds St, Hauraki Room (free entry)

Showcases: Ten artists, two stages

Brought to you by IMNZ, NZ Music Commission and Musicworks

Appearing at Galatos Downstairs (Jagermeister stage), 17 Galatos St, Newton (free entry, 1st band 7pm)

· Two Cartoons (Dun)

· Tom Lark

· The Wyld

· Glass Owls

· Popstrangers

Appearing at Galatos Upstairs, 17 Galatos St, Newton (free entry, 1st band 7.30pm)

· Five Mile Town

· Clap Clap Riot

· She's So Rad

· Artisan Guns

· Von Voin Strum (Chch)

 

 


Monday 10th September - CHRISTCHURCH

Seminars: CPIT, 60 Madras St, Imagitech Theatre (free entry)


Showcase: Five artists, one venue

Brought to you by IMNZ, NZ Music Commission, CPIT, CHART, CW Musicworks and RDU98.5fm

Appearing at Dux Live, 363 Lincoln Rd (free entry, 1st band 7pm)

· The Tiny Lies

· Mel Parsons

· Ashei

· House Of Mountain

· Ipswich

 

DELEGATES APPEARING FOR GOING GLOBAL MUSIC SUMMIT 2012:

 

 

· Greg Vegas (International Rescue Artist Development / Cooperative Music, USA)

· Peter Jesperson (Newwest Records, USA)

· Brooke Black (Big Hassle, USA)

· Lisa Hresko (CMJ, USA)

· Cary Caldwell (Great Escape UK, SXSW USA)

· Andrew Dubber (author 'Music in the Digital Age', UK) with thanks to British Council

· Nick O'Byrne (Australian Independent Records Labels Association (AIR), Australia)

· Shawnté Salabert (Sugaroo! USA) with thanks to NZ Music Commission

· Rene Chambers (Spotify, Aust/NZ) note, Wgtn 6th / Akld 7th ONLY

· Graham ‘Asho' Ashton (Footstomp / Bigsound, Australia) note, Wgtn/Akld ONLY

 

 

Delegate bios & photos are available at www.goinglobal.co.nz

 

 


ABOUT GOING GLOBAL MUSIC SUMMIT 2012:

 


Going Global Music Summit is a multi-day event with music industry seminars, featuring international speakers, alongside showcases featuring new music from national artists.


The Summit takes place in Wellington (Sept 6th), Auckland (Sept 7th - 8th) and Christchurch (Sept 10th). It provides musicians, producers, composers, labels, promoters, industry professionals and fans a
chance to perform, discuss, learn, teach, interact and argue in front of an audience of like minded peers in an environment that encourages the global exchange of ideas, techniques and trends.

 


GOING GLOBAL MUSIC SUMMIT 2012 is proudly brought to you by Independent Music New Zealand in partnership with the NZ Music Commission and proudly supported by CHART, Mighty Mighty, San Francisco Bath House,
98.5RDU, Dux Live, CPIT, CJ's Musicworks Christchurch and the British Council.

 


"...a real bonus for our local music community" - Murray Cammick, Rip It Up Nov 2011.

 


Complete list of artists performing/links:

 

 

Name UL - http://nameul.bandcamp.com

Matt Langley - www.mattlangley.co.nz

The Eversons - https://www.facebook.com/theeversonsband

Disasteradio - www.disasteradio.org

The All Seeing Hand - http://the-all-seeing-hand.bandcamp.com/

The Velvet Regime - http://www.thevelvetregime.com

Family Cactus - facebook.com/familycactus

Sunken Seas - http://sunkenseas.com

The Golden Awesome - www.thegoldenawesome.blogspot.co.nz

Mountaineater (Dun) - http://www.facebook.com/mountaineater.nz

Five Mile Town - www.fivemiletownband.com

Clap Clap Riot - http://clapclapriot.com/

She's So Rad - www.shessorad.com

Artisan Guns - http://www.artisanguns.com/

Von Voin Strum (Chch) - www.famousmusic.co.nz

Two Cartoons (Dun) - http://www.twocartoons.com/

Tom Lark - http://www.tomlark.bandcamp.com

The Wyld - http://www.thewyldmusic.com/

Glass Owls - www.glassowls.bandcamp.com

Popstrangers - http://www.facebook.com/popstrangers

The Tiny Lies - http://thetinylies.bandcamp.com/

Mel Parsons - www.melparsons.com

Ashei - www.weareashei.com

House Of Mountain - www.houseofmountain.com

Ipswich - http://muzairecords.com/artists/ipswich

 

 

Back to Artist News