About the Artist

1814 are an 8-piece Reggae Band whose members live in the hills surrounding the beautiful Whangaroa Harbour and nearby town of Kerikeri, Northland.

NZ Reggae band 1814 have been performing their take on Kiwi flavoured Reggae since 2004 and have travelled extensively throughout New Zealand and Australia.

1814 have enjoyed national success with their debut album "Jah Rydem" which Patu describes as having sweet soulful vocals, upbeat grooves, wicked sax lines and a strong message of Peace, Love and Harmony. The album was recorded at world renowned recording studio, York Street in Auckland.

"Jah Rydem" reached number 1 on the New Zealand indie charts with 'Jah Rastafari' reaching gold status in digital downloads. The band also received an award in 2010 and 2011 at the Maori Music Awards for 'Whakahonohono Mai' which was the most played song on Maori radio.

Late 2011, 1814 released an album of cover songs from artists such as UB40, Burning Spear, Don Carlos, Johnny Cash, Bill Withers, Dennis Brown, The Naturalites, Alton Ellis, Sam Cooke, and Finlay Quaye.

1814 have performed at major festivals around New Zealand and Australia. WOMAD 2012 (New Plymouth), Raggamuffin 2011 (Rotorua), Raggamuffin 2012 (Rotorua), Rhythm and Vines (Gisborne), Coro Gold (Coromandel), La De Da (Martinborough), Homegrown (Wellington), Rhythm and Alps (Christchurch), Exodus (Papamoa), Native Noize (Auckland), Pacifika (Auckland), Byron Bay Blues and Jazz Festival (Byron Bay) just to name a few.

1814 has also supprted International bands Third World on their NZ Tour, Nas and Damien Marley on their Distant Relatives Tour, Michael Franti and Spearhead, Kolohe Kai, REbel Souljahs, Raggamuffin International artists Mary J Blige, Jimmy Cliff, Maxi Priest, The Wailers, Kymani Marley, J Boog, Spawnbreezie, Billy Ocean, Ali Campbell, Sly and Robbie, Arrested Development, Nkule Dube.

1814 originally came out of the hills surrounding the beatiful Whangaroa Harbour where the inspiration for writing music comes from.

1814 consists of Patu Colbert (guitar), Shaun Colbert (drums), Jimmy Colbert (bass guitar), Darren Katene (lead vocals), Erana Jones (keyboards), Chris Pierce (saxophone), Ernie Semu (keyboards), Neihana Mackey-Harrison (vocals) and Rukuwai Allen (vocals), Michael Blokhuis (FOH engineer).

The name, 1814, was taken from the year the Gospel arrived at Oihi, in the Bay Of Islands. Missionary Samuel Marsden held the first sermon there on Christmas Day, 1814. This is the inspiration behind delivering a message of peace, love and unity to all people throughout the world.


Latest Release

Buy album
Relax by 1814 cover art


Relax is the long awaited second originals album from NZ's most popular underground reggae band, 1814.