APRA Silver Scroll Awards 2011: Announcing the Finalists

August 4th 2011
After 2 weeks of intense voting from the 8,000+ APRA members, APRA (the Australasian Performing Right Association) is proud to announce the finalists for New Zealand’s Silver Scroll Award, the most celebrated songwriting award for 2011:

‘Nothing to Lose’, written by Jon Toogood and Karoline Tamati,
performed by The Adults

‘Blanket’, written by Annabel Alpers, performed by Bachelorette
(Native Tongue Music Publishing)

‘Love Love Love’, written by Dave Baxter, performed by Avalanche City

‘Little Heart’, written and performed by Delaney Davidson

‘FFunny FFrends’, written by Ruban Nielson, performed by Unknown
Mortal Orchestra (Mushroom Music)

“It's a stellar selection of songs, a seriously good list that
represents the diversity of New Zealand songwriters", says Anthony Healey,
Director of NZ Operations for APRA.

Not only are the finalists chosen by their peers, their works will be
performed by their peers. Under the tutelage of Music Director Karl Steven
(Supergroove, The Drab Doo Riffs), unique renditions of each of the above
songs will be performed at the invite only APRA Silver Scroll Awards on
Tuesday 13th September at the Auckland Town Hall.

APRA are also excited to announce the finalists for the APRA Maioha Award
and SOUNZ Contemporary Award.

Celebrating contemporary Maori music, the finalists for the APRA Maioha
Award are:

‘E te Kōkā’, written and performed by Ngahiwi Apanui

‘Starship Lullaby’, written and performed by Tiki Taane

‘Ko Koe’, written and performed by Tyna Keelan

The finalists for the SOUNZ Contemporary Award – celebrating
contemporary classical composition- are:

‘Concerto for Piano and Orchestra’, written by Lyell Cresswell

‘Gravitas’, written by Chris Gendall

‘Sillage’, written by Samuel Holloway

"As always it is our privilege to celebrate the best of New Zealand music
in all its forms. Each of the finalists in every category exemplifies the
wonderfully unique and diverse music made here every year. We should
always treasure it", says Healey.

Also on the night, in recognition of the contribution music has made to
New Zealand’s culture and heritage, there will be another induction to
the New Zealand Music Hall Of Fame. Set up in 2007 with RIANZ, the 2011
inductee(s) will join the ranks of Ray Columbus & The Invaders, The Topp
Twins, Johnny Devlin, Jordan Luck, Richard Nunns, Hirini Melbourne,
Straitjacket Fits, Shihad and The Fourmyula.

Back to Artist News