APRA Silver Scroll Awards - 2015 Top 20 + 1981 Top 5

July 16th 2015
The Top 20 songs in line for the 2015 APRA Silver Scroll Award have been announced, featuring some of the biggest names in music alongside the new blood of New Zealand's songwriting community.

The 2015 APRA Silver Scroll Award Top 20 are:

• Back Into Your Life by Clap Clap Riot
• Call The Days by Nadia Reid
• Can't Keep Checking My Phone by Unknown Mortal Orchestra
• Collarbones by Thomston
• Cool It by She's So Rad
• Dark Child by Marlon Williams
• Do You Remember by Jarryd James
• Get Out Alive by Mel Parsons
• Just In Case Allelujah by Eyreton Hall
• L.A.F. by Broods
• Little Pieces by SJD
• Multi-Love by Unknown Mortal Orchestra
• Naomi by Martin Andrews
• Perfect Health by Mulholland
• Special by Six60
• Touch by Maala
• Unplugged by SJD
• Water Underground by Anthonie Tonnon
• Welcome Back by King Kapisi
• Yellow Flicker Beat by Lorde

The winner of the APRA Silver Scroll Award is decided by the votes of APRA's members - over 10,000 New Zealand songwriters and composers. Voting for the award is now open, and closes at midnight on Sunday 9th August.

"Little known folk songs to powerhouse pop anthems, these songs are a reflection of the quality and diversity of music being created in this country." says APRA's Anthony Healey "It's a great list that demonstrates the power and magic of a well-written song. For the last 50 years APRA AMCOS has been supporting and celebrating original music in this country - we look forward to continuing this tradition into the future"

2015 marks the 50th presentation of the APRA Silver Scroll Award, and as a part of the celebrations the ‘Lost Scroll' of 1981 - the APRA Silver Scroll Award that was never awarded - will also be presented. All singles released in the 1981 eligibility period have been narrowed down to the Top 5 songs, and now, alongside the award for 2015, APRA members will also decide the winner of the 1981 APRA Silver Scroll Award.

The 1981 APRA Silver Scroll Award Top 5 are:

Counting The Beat - The Swingers
No Depression In New Zealand - Blam Blam Blam
One Step Ahead - Split Enz
See Me Go - The Screaming Meemees
Tally Ho - The Clean

The awards for both years will be presented at the APRA Silver Scroll Awards in September. Alongside the APRA Silver Scroll Award, presentations on the night will also include the APRA Maioha Award; the SOUNZ Contemporary Award; the APRA Best Original Music in a Feature Film Award; the APRA Best Original Music in a Series Award; and the local and international Most Performed Works Awards. As a part of the celebrations an iconic New Zealand songwriter will also be inducted into the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame.

The APRA Silver Scroll Awards will be held at Vector Arena in Auckland on Thursday 17th September 2015. The event is sponsored by Becks and Peter Yealands Wines.


Back to Artist News