Hans Pucket ‘No Drama’ Aotearoa Winter Tour - 13 Dates Around the Motu

May 31st 2023

It’s been a big year for Pōneke / Tāmaki Makaurau pop-rock quartet Hans Pucket who write nervy but effortlessly danceable rock songs about feeling bad. Their second full-length album No Drama was released in late 2022 via Carpark Records (The Beths) to critical acclaim both in Aotearoa and abroad. 

“Is there a more-well liked band in New Zealand right now than Hans Pucket? …No Drama overflows with slippery grooves and thoughtful lyrics, amplified by stirring strings and horns.” - Rolling Stone. 

“Their latest album, No Drama, is packed with shiny indie-pop songs that are instantaneously infectious, often extremely danceable and endlessly catchy.” - Tone Deaf. 

The band showcased at SXSW in Austin, Texas earlier this year, was nominated for a 2023 Taite Music Prize and won Te Rōpū Mariu (favourite group) at the 2022 Student Radio Network Awards. 

Now, the band are set to tour their album No Drama in New Zealand this winter with 13 shows around the motu.

The 13-date nationwide tour will commence with a special show at Nelson’s Boathouse 7 July and finish in their hometown of Wellington on 12 August. As well as Christchurch, Dunedin, Auckland and Wellington, the tour will also stop off at Hamilton, Tauranga and Gisborne plus Blenheim, Queenstown, Oamaru, Hastings and Whanganui. 

“Now that’s what I call touring vol. 34”


No Drama gleefully captures the all-too-common twenty-something anxieties of talking too much and then being unable to find the right words to say. The album came together over several years, and during its creation, the band consisting of brothers Oliver (vocals, guitar) and Callum Devlin (bass), and drummer Jonathan Nott added multi-instrumentalist Callum Passels, who provided all the horn arrangements on the LP. Recorded with Jonathan Pearce of The Beths at his Auckland studio, the album is full of big leaps, immaculate arrangements, and a ton of immediate grooves. The result is Hans Pucket’s most sparkling and confident collection yet. While it’s danceable and fun, it’s also a thoughtful exploration of anxiety, a call for empathy in a turbulent time, and a relatable reminder that it’s hard to figure things out.


Hans Pucket Online:

Instagram | Facebook | Twitter
Bandcamp Spotify

Carpark Records


No Drama Tracklist

1. My Brain is a Vacant Space
2. You Must Chill
3. Misery Loves Company
4. No Drama
5. Honey
6. The Square
7. Some Good News
8. Bankrupt
9. Kiss The Moon
10. Drag Me Through Your Heart
11. I'm Not Opposed To

Back to Artist News