September 15th 2022
APRA AMCOS will honour and celebrate the late Te Kumeroa “Ngoingoi” Pēwhairangi QSM and her beloved Aunty Tuini Moetū Haangū Ngāwai when they are inducted into the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame | Te Whare Taonga Puoro o Aotearoa at the 2022 APRA Silver Scroll Awards | Kaitito Kaiaka.

Tuini Ngāwai (Te Whānau-a-Ruataupare) born 1910 in Tokomaru Bay, not only composed over 200 waiata and action songs but was also a leader in revitalising Māori culture and identity. Her songwriting involved everything from love, death, war, to informal sing-a-longs. Tuini's waiata are still performed today including popular ditties like ‘Kei Tangi a Big Ben’.

Tuini formed Te Hokowhitu-a-Tū a performing group whose work assisted Sir Apirana Ngata and his recruiting efforts for the 28th New Zealand (Māori) Battalion. Many of her finest songs were written during the war including ‘Arohaina mai e te Kingi Nui’ which became the unofficial hymn for the Ngāti Porou C Company soldiers.
Tuini had a strong determination to restore Māori pride, involving herself in the Kotahitanga Movement alongside efforts to achieve greater recognition for the Treaty of Waitangi. As always, she had meaningful messages to convey about these kaupapa through songs such as ‘Te Kotahitanga rā e.’


Te Kumeroa Ngoingoi Pēwhairangi (Te Whānau-a-Ruataupare, Ngāti Porou), known affectionately as Ngoi, would carry on her aunt’s legacy as a leader, educator, and lauded songwriter. While she is best known for co-writing hits with high-profile Māori artists Prince Tui Teka and Dalvanius Prime, Ngoi composed many widely beloved waiata including ‘Kia Kaha Ngā Iwi’, ‘Ka Noho Au,’ and ‘Whakarongo.’ She is also deeply respected as a leader, spiritual bastion, and youth advocate, and is a profound influence on many current Māori songwriters.

This year marks 40 years since the conception of ‘Poi E’, New Zealand’s unofficial anthem written by Ngoi and produced by Dalvanius Prime for Pātea Māori Club. Upon release, ‘Poi E’ topped the charts for a month outselling international acts and has since revisited the Top 10 multiple times.

Ngoi’s influence as a songwriter is far-reaching not only in writing popular waiata, but in the way she collaborated and motivated others to write in te reo Māori - from kapa haka works, to chart topping hits, to compositions for royal visits.
With great respects to their whānau, we feel deeply honoured to induct both Ngoi and Tuini into the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame | Te Whare Taonga Puoro o Aotearoa.

The 2022 APRA Silver Scroll Awards | Kaitito Kaiaka will take place on Tuesday 18 October at Spark Arena, Tāmaki Makauarau.


Te Whare Taonga Puoro o Aotearoa | New Zealand Music Hall of Fame was created in 2007 by APRA AMCOS NZ | Te Tautāwhinga & Recorded Music NZ | Puoro Rekoata ki Aotearoa, to celebrate the many writers, artists and musicians who have made a significant contribution, through music, to life and culture in Aotearoa/New Zealand. 

Back to Artist News