2014 APRA Silver Scroll Award - Top 20 Announced

August 7th 2014
APRA AMCOS are extremely proud to announce the Top 20 songs in line for the 2014 APRA Silver Scroll Award.

APRA AMCOS are extremely proud to announce the Top 20 songs in line for the 2014 APRA Silver Scroll Award.

The Top 20 songs are:

10,000 Things, Mahuia Bridgman-Cooper/Sean Sturm - School for Birds
Back On My Feet, Louis Baker - Louis Baker
Bob Lennon John Dylan, Samuel Scott/Lukaz Buda/Thomas Wedde/William Ricketts/Thomas Callwood/Christopher O'Connor - The Phoenix Foundation
Bridges, Joel Little/Georgia Nott/Caleb Nott - Broods
Celeste, Joseph Faris - Ezra Vine
Cry If You Want To, Jolyon Mulholland - Mulholland
Duckies Lament, Jonathan Bree - Jonathan Bree
Glare, Daniel McBride - Sheep, Dog & Wolf
Good Keen Man, Brendan McKenna - Lake South
Gravity, Tom Scott/Lui Tuiasau/Brandon Haru/Christopher James/Hayden Dick - @Peace
Her Heart Breaks Like a Wave, Edward Castelow - Dictaphone Blues
I'm The Man That Will Find You, Connan Hosford - Connan Mockasin
Levels, Jeremy Toy - She's So Rad
Make You Mine, Anna Coddington - Anna Coddington
Me At The Museum, You In The Wintergardens, Hollie Fullbrook/Alexander Freer/Cass Mitchell - Tiny Ruins
Runnin, David Dallas/Aaron Iusitini/Jordan Iusitini/King Britt/Tim Motzer/Gertrude Morgan - David Dallas
Simplicity, Mark Vanilau - Mark Vanilau
Speakers Blown, Sidney Diamond/Isaiah Libeau - Sid Diamond
Sunshine On The Water, Tama Waipara/Mateheke Waititi - Tama Waipara
Walk (Back To Your Arms), Tami Neilson/Joshua Neilson - Tami Neilson

The Top 20 songs were selected by a judging panel of APRA writer members, and now it's over to the 10,000 strong New Zealand APRA membership to decide the winner.

"Great songs have a magic that's hard to define, and just what connects each of these twenty great songs is a mystery. The Top 20 shows the wonderful variety of music written here over the past year, and now New Zealand's songwriters themselves get to pick the next worthy winner." Anthony Healey, Head of NZ Operations for APRA AMCOS.

The Top 20 can be listened to via the APRA AMCOS website - www.apraamcos.co.nz. Voting is now open for APRA members; voting closes on Sunday 31st August.

The APRA Silver Scroll Award has been awarded since 1965 and is widely considered the most prestigious music award in the country. The award holds special significance as the only peer voted songwriting award in New Zealand.

The award will be presented at the APRA Silver Scroll Awards - a highlight of the New Zealand music industry calendar. Alongside the APRA Silver Scroll Award, presentations on the night include the APRA Maioha and SOUNZ Contemporary Awards, the local and international Most Performed Works awards, as well as two new awards - the APRA Best Original Music in a Feature Film Award and the APRA Best Original Music in a Series Award. The night will also include a very special induction into the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame.

The 2014 APRA Silver Scroll Awards will be held on Thursday 30th October at Wellington's TSB Arena. Member voting is open from Thursday 7th August - Sunday 31st August.


Back to Commission News