July 1st 2020
The Amped Music Project returns for 2020, Dunedin’s own mentoring programme for aspiring young musicians.
The free initiative open to local high school students will this year be coordinated by the multi-talented Craig Monk. Trained as a violinist, guitarist and composer, his diverse musical background and experience as a musician, producer and arts manager is set to bring a unique perspective to this year’s round of tutoring, performing, and music creating.

Craig has played in many Dunedin bands including Cloudboy and Mink, and collaborated with many other bands and artists. He has worked in arts funding and development in the UK and in Aotearoa, and studied North Indian classical music in the UK. Currently he plays in Lars Von Trio, Heka, and The Broken Heartbreakers, with the Octagon Ensemble, and the Dunedin Symphony Orchestra. He also writes and records music, and teaches.


AMPED has been running since 2012, beginning as the Chicks Project. A project of the Dunedin Fringe Arts Trust, AMPED now consists of workshops with local and national industry professionals, and live gigs geared towards kick-starting the next generation’s careers in music.

Craig will be curating the lineup of tutors and workshops for the 2020 programme, and helping the Amped participants to produce gigs.

"My teenage years in Dunedin were full of amazing music, made by many people who I feel blessed to call my friends now. Dunedin has a wonderful music scene, full of truly great artists, teachers, mentors, producers and audiences. I'm delighted to be helping a new generation of young artists understand something of how the business of music works, and how they can best make their way in it."

Amped Music Project 2020 runs over three weekends in August. Applications close on Friday 31 July.

Apply to be part of Amped 2020 here.

The Amped Music Project is a project of the Dunedin Fringe Arts Trust, proudly presented in association with Otago Community Trust, Dunedin City Council, Recorded Music New Zealand, NZ Music Commission, Music Planet, Radio One, and APRA.

Back to Commission News