Technical Award Finalists for the 2015 Vodafone NZ Music Awards

October 1st 2015
Announcing the Technical Award finalists for the 2015 Vodafone NZ Music Awards and the Massey University Bachelor of Commercial Music Scholarship

The Technical Award finalists for the 50th Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards are announced by Recorded Music NZ with a mix of first timers and previous winners up for the three Tuis.

There's also good news for all aspiring music performers and industry professionals of the future with Massey University announcing a Bachelor of Commercial Music Scholarship in association with the Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards.

Cotswolds based Kiwi Clint Murphy leads the way with two nominations for Best Engineer and Massey University Best Producer on Devilskin's We Rise. Clint has previously worked with NZ favourites Opshop, The Feelers, Kimbra, 8 Foot Sativa and Bic Runga.

Joel Little returns to the Massey University Best Producer finalist list for Broods' debut album Evergreen. Joel is a previous VNZMA and Grammy Award winner, Golden Globe-nominated, multi-platinum certified songwriter, producer and musician. He now spends his time in both Los Angeles and Auckland, the latter where his Golden Age studio is based. In addition to Broods, Joel has worked closely with Lorde, Jarryd James, Ellie Goulding and Sam Smith.

The Massey University Best Producer category also features Auckland's Sean Donnelly aka SJD as a finalist, recognised for self-production work on his latest album Saint John Divine. Sean has produced all his seven albums as well as co-producing Neil Finn's Pajama Club and Don McGlashan's album Warm Hand.

Miramar's Evan Short is up for Best Engineer for his work on Shihad's, FVEY. Evan's musical career has spanned a diverse range of genres and roles including being one half of respected drum and bass act Concord Dawn. His career in production and engineering has had him working with artists such as Tiki Taane, Shapeshifter and David Dallas, as well as with Aaradhna on her 2013 VNZMA Album of the Year Treble & Reverb.

Lee Prebble and Oliver Harmer complete the Best Engineer finalists list for their work on Mel Parson's album Drylands. Lee and Oliver have a significant impact on New Zealand music, having engineered multiple gold and platinum albums.

The designers being acknowledged for their artistic flair as finalists for this year's Best Album Cover are Aucklanders Kelvin Soh (Broods' Evergreen) and Barny Bewick (Cairo Knife Fight's The Colossus). They're joined by Auckland graphic design firm Alt Group for its work on Shihad's FVEY cover.


With a view to nurture future Tui nominees, Massey University has established a Bachelor of Commercial Music Scholarship in association with the Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards.

Designed to foster creative excellence within the New Zealand music community, the scholarship will assist a promising student with NZ$22,500 towards tuition fees and associated costs in three years of full-time undergraduate study in the Bachelor of Commercial Music degree.

Launching February 2016 at Massey University's College of Creative Arts, the Bachelor of Commercial Music is a brand new degree addressing the creation, production, promotion and distribution of tomorrow's music.

Led by practising musicians and industry experts, the programme is future focused and new technology driven, emphasising originality and innovation. The degree offers a choice of three majors - Music Practice, Music Technology and Music Industry along with a range of collaborative papers.

Further information and application details for the scholarship can be found at

All applicants must meet Massey University's admission requirements and be available to attend a pre-enrolment audition or interview. Applications close December 2, 2015.

Technical Award finalists for the 50th annual Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards:

Massey University Best Producer
Clint Murphy Devilskin - We Rise
Joel Little Broods - Evergreen
Sean Donnelly SJD - Saint John Divine

Best Engineer
Clint Murphy Devilskin - We Rise
Evan Short Shihad - FVEY
Lee Prebble & Oliver Harmer Mel Parsons - Drylands

Best Album Cover
Alt Group Shihad - FVEY
Barny Bewick Cairo Knife Fight - The Colossus
Kelvin Soh Broods - Evergreen

The winners of the Technical Awards are revealed at VNZMA Finalists Announcement at The Pullman Hotel in Auckland on Tuesday 13 October.

This year's NZ On Air Critics' Choice Showcase line up is being announced at the event as well as the New Zealand Herald Legacy Award recipient, who will be inducted in to the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame.

The 50th annual Recorded Music NZ Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards ceremony will be held at Auckland's Vector Arena on Thursday 19 November.

This year, the Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards celebrates its 50th anniversary.

For the first time ever the show is a live broadcast on TV3 made with the support of NZ On Air.

The categories for the Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards...

Mentos Album Of The Year Vodafone Single Of The Year
Best Group Best Female Solo Artist

Best Male Solo Artist Breakthrough Artist Of The Year

NZ On Air Best Music Video
The Edge Best Pop Album

Best Rock Album
Best Urban / Hip Hop Album

Best Electronica Album
Best Roots Album

Best Alternative Album
Best Maori Album

Best Worship Album
Best Classical Album
Radio Airplay Record of the Year'
Vodafone People's Choice Award
Highest Selling Album
Highest Selling Single
Vodafone People's Choice Award

New Zealand Herald Legacy Award

Follow the Awards news online:


Back to Commission News