The Taite Music Prize: Announcing the Finalists

February 19th 2014
The finalists for the Taite Music Prize 2014 have now been confirmed.

The finalists for the Taite Music Prize 2014 have now been confirmed.

Named after the late Dylan Taite, one of the country's most highly respected music journalists, this will be the fifth year for the award. The Taite Music Prize's purpose is to recognise outstanding creativity for an entire collection of music contained on one album.

The winner will receive a cash prize of $10,000, to be spent as they wish. The cash prize is kindly supplied by Recorded Music NZ. The winner will also receive free recording time at Red Bull Studios and a year's supply of Red Bull Product.

This year's finalists, from a lengthy list of nominations submitted by record labels both independent and major from across the country, are:

Unknown Mortal Orchestra - 'II' (Rhythmethod)
Beastwars - 'Blood Becomes Fire' (Destroy Records)
Sheep Dog & Wolf - 'Egospect' (Lil' Chief Records)
The Phoenix Foundation - 'Fandango' (The Phoenix Foundation/Universal)
David Dallas - 'Falling Into Place' (Frequency Media Group/Universal)
@peace - 'Girl Songs' (Frequency Media Group/Universal)
Lorde - 'Pure Heroine' (Universal Music New Zealand)
Jonathan Bree - 'The Primrose Path' (Lil' Chief Records)

The voting panel to determine the finalists was made up of a broad section of music media/industry specialists alongside all current members of Independent Music New Zealand (IMNZ). There will be a second round of judging by a selected music panel to decide the overall winner.

The judges will make their decision based entirely on the artistic merit of the album(s). Sales, genres, artist recognition or popularity are not contributing factors in their decision-making process.

The selected finalist music panel for 2014 is made up of the following persons:
- Gary Steel (Metro writer, free-range journalist)
- T'Nealle Joie (The Darkroom / The Last Word)
- Grant Smithies (Sunday Star Times)
- Pennie Blair (Operations Manager, 95bFM)
- Sandra Hopping (IMNZ member / Ode Records)
- Vicky Blood (Chairperson, NZ Music Commission)
- Jon Bywater (Senior Lecturer, Critical Studies, Elam School of Fine Arts / Auckland University)
- Duncan Greive (freelance journalist)
- Aroha Harawira (DJ, George FM)
- Andre Upston (Producer, Radio New Zealand)
- 11th Man - John Taite (BBC America)

Damian Vaughan, CEO of Recorded Music NZ - Official Partner of the Taite Music Prize said this afternoon, "I'm excited by the phenomenal talent in the shortlist. Once again the Taite Music Prize showcases the depth of quality albums released here in NZ."

Christy Whelan, Chairperson of IMNZ says, "Creating, producing and promoting the Taite Music Prize, a music award that recognises and rewards the artistic value of a great New Zealand album, is at the heart of IMNZ's core values and we are very proud to celebrate all of the album finalists this year. However, only one artist will grasp the trophy with both hands this year and I look forward now to hearing the judges decision."

The overall award winner will be announced on Wednesday the 16th of April at an invitation-only event at Galatos Live in Auckland's central city. The ceremony will include live performances from last year's Taite Music Prize winner SJD and another artist who is yet-to-be-announced.

Also to be presented at the event is the Independent Music NZ Classic Record award, acknowledging a defining NZ record from our yesteryear. Last year's recipient was the GORDONS - 'GORDONS'.

Previous winners are:
2010 - Lawrence Arabia 'Chant Darling' (Honorary Bedouin Records)
2011 - Ladi6 - 'The Liberation Of' (Question? Music)
2012 - Unknown Mortal Orchestra - 'Unknown Mortal Orchestra' (Seeing Records)
2013 - SJD - 'Elastic Wasteland' (Round Trip Mars)


Back to Commission News