The Taite Music Prize: In Search of This Years’ Finest New Zealand Album

December 14th 2015
Independent Music NZ is proud to announce that nominations are now open for the Taite Music Prize 2016.

Independent Music NZ is proud to announce that nominations are now open for the Taite Music Prize 2016.

Named after the late Dylan Taite, one of the country's most highly respected music journalists, this will be the seventh year for the award. The Taite Music Prize's purpose is to recognise outstanding creativity for an entire collection of music contained on one album. The winner will receive a cash prize of $10,000, to be spent as they wish - thanks to Founding Partner of the Taite Music Prize Recorded Music NZ. Additionally through the support of Red Bull Studios Auckland, the winner receives recording time and a years supply of Red Bull product.

Acknowledging originality, creativity and musicianship regardless of sales figures or genre, the Taite Music Prize was established to champion the finest release by a New Zealand artist or group - the previous winners have all been excellent albums that demonstrate these criteria well.

The shortlisted finalist albums will be selected by votes from all current IMNZ members alongside an invited group comprising musicians, record label representatives, music journalists and radio staff. The shortlisted albums will then be subjected to a secondary round of judging by a group of ten music judges who will collectively decide the overall winner of the Taite Music Prize.

The judges will make their decision based entirely on the music on the finalist albums. Sales, genres, artist recognition or popularity are not contributing factors in their decision making process. The winner will then be announced at a presentation in Auckland on 20th April 2016. The ceremony will also include the award presentation of the Independent Music NZ Classic Record, which acknowledges New Zealand's rich history of making fine albums that continue to inspire us and define who we are. This award is also determined by this year's judging panel, which is made up of a broad section of music media/industry specialists.

Any New Zealand album released during 2015 is eligible for nomination for the Taite Music Prize 2016. For more detail on specific eligibility and nomination forms please visit:
Nominations close 5.00pm on 28th January 2016.

Previous Taite Music Prize winners are:
2010 - Lawrence Arabia Chant Darling (Honorary Bedouin Records)
2011 - Ladi6 - The Liberation Of (What? Music)
2012 - Unknown Mortal Orchestra - Unknown Mortal Orchestra (Seeing Records)
2013 - SJD - Elastic Wasteland (Round Trip Mars)
2014 - Lorde - Pure Heroine (Universal Music NZ)
2015 - Jakob - Sines (Shoot The Freak)

Previous Independent Music NZ Classic Record recipients are:
2013 - Gordons - Gordons (Flying Nun)
2014 - AK79 - Various (Ripper Records)
2015 - Herbs - What's Be Happen? (Warrior Records)

Back to Commission News