Musicians Mentoring in Schools This NZ Music Month

May 2nd 2018

This May we have a bumper crop of artists taking their expertise around the country - over 20 schools across New Zealand will have NZ artists coming to work with their students.

Those artists include Julia Deans, Possum Plows (Openside), Anna Coddington, Jed Parsons, Jane de Jong (Ruby Frost), Grayson Gilmour, Karl Thomas, Troy Kingi, Kim Halliday, Tyna Keelan, Natalia Sheppard (Tali), Tommy Nee, Sacha Vee, Malcolm Lakatani, Shayne Carter, Tipene Harmer (Tipene) and Matt Barus. One artist will visit each school, which are across eight regions of New Zealand.

The schools participating this NZ Music Month are Heretaunga College (Wellington), Te Kura Kaupapa Maori o Te Tonga o Hokianga (Northland), Tolaga Bay Area School (Gisborne), Waiopehu College (Manuwatu-Whanganui), Rodney College (Auckland), Kerikeri High School (Northland), Mt Roskill Grammar School (Auckland), South New Brighton School (Canterbury), Mahurangi College (Auckland), Mangere College (Auckland), St. Paul's College (Auckland), Waiheke High School (Auckland), Waiuku College (Auckland), Taieri College (Otago), Tai Wananga (Waikato), Wakatipu College (Otago), Palmerston North Girls' High School (Manuwatu-Wanganui), Feilding High School (Manuwatu-Wanganui), Waitaki Girls' High School (Otago), Kuranui High School (Wellington) and Opihi College (Otago).

And it's not just an opportunity to meet some of New Zealand's best and brightest - the Musicians Mentoring Programme also supports teachers and students with NCEA Music Achievement Standards - allowing students to potentially earn four to six credits through their work with their Mentor. The programme runs all year round and is made possible through the support of the Ministry of Education, and the Musicians Mentoring Programme runs in over sixty schools across New Zealand every year.

For more information, go to:


Back to Education News